Borrowing and Access

Everything you need to know about borrowing privileges, access credentials, and the Styberg Library’s resources.

Information about Borrowing & Access

The Styberg Library offers free borrowing privileges for current staff, faculty, and students of Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, Bexley Seabury Seminary, and Northwestern University. Other available borrowers privileges are available to the following:


  • Family members of Garrett & Bexley Seabury students, staff, and faculty.
  • Alumni/ae of Garrett-Evangelical Theological and Bexley Seabury seminaries
  • Current students, faculty, and staff at Association of Chicago Theological Schools (ACTS) institutions.
  • Current students, faculty, and staff of other Atla member institutions. Click here for more information, including a full list of participating institutions.
  • Visiting Scholars who have made prior arrangements with the President’s Office.
  • United Methodist and Episcopal Clergy.
  • All clergy living or working in Evanston, regardless of religious affiliation.


If you do not fit any of these categories but would still like to borrow from the Styberg Library’s collection, community borrower’s cards are available for an annual fee of $75.


For more information about who is eligible to borrow and their borrowing privileges, see our Borrowing and Access Policy.


Use your Garrett physical ID card to check out physical items at The Styberg and Northwestern Libraries as well as to enter the Northwestern University Library buildings. For electronic materials, you will need to authenticate using your NetID and password or Garrett e-mail credentials.


For details, visit our NetID and MFA Information.


Current Garrett and Bexley Seabury students, faculty, and staff have access to many other libraries throughout Chicagoland and within the United States through ACTS (Association of Chicago Theological Schools) and Atla Reciprocal Borrowing.